Spreading The Gospel

God Causes Everything to Work for Good (Romans 8:28)


Romans 8:28 (NLT) says, “And we know that God causes everything to work together for the good of those who love God and are called according to his purpose for them.”

I heard this scripture when my whole world fell apart. After years of being used and abused, I was so broken. I believed every lie that had been spoken to me. But I kept hearing that God would turn everything around for good. In my mind, I could not imagine that abuse, adultery, abandonment, and all the things that I had endured could end up being good. That was absolutely crazy to me…especially when Christians would tell me that one day I would be able to thank God for my abuser and everything that I had suffered through. Crazy, huh?

So, how is it possible that God could use all of that pain for my good? You see, I have come to realize over the years, that God could not have used my children and I with us trapped in that environment. I have come to understand that all that I went through that broke me down to nothingness, was the catapult that brought me and my children to the relationship that we have with The Lord now. I now realize that God used that mess that I was in to make a message to other victims. I realize that God used that test that I went through for a testimony for overcoming abuse. And yes, there are many abuses and many tests that we go through in this world, but I have learned to hold onto God through every trial and tribulation and He will help me through it… I now do believe that, “God will cause everything to work together for the good of those who love Him and are called according to His purposes.”

message

I felt God leading me to use this video with this posting. You see, this person in this video was abused by society. She was laughed at, mocked, and held down by the criticisms of this world… But God had a plan for her and He opened the door for her in His timing… God has a plan for each of us!

6 responses

  1. Beautiful! God bless you!

    July 2, 2014 at 5:59 am

    • Thanks Debbie! Many blessings to you!

      July 3, 2014 at 12:00 am

  2. Oh Debbie, you are oh so right. Years of abuse and here I am allowing God to use that pain to encourage and bring hope to others. Who would have thought. He does amaze us! Susan Boyle is definitely another example of God’s grace being poured out.

    July 2, 2014 at 2:02 pm

    • Amen… We serve an awesome God! I just love the story of Susan Boyle…a prime example of God’s restoration in action and an inspiration to many!!

      July 3, 2014 at 1:55 am

  3. Awesome Post!! Just to let you know I used an image from your post on my blog at https://faithtrustandbreastcancer.blogspot.com/2016/09/philippians-113-part-2-design-wall-fun.html. Naturally, I linked right back to you! Blessings, Patricia

    September 27, 2016 at 6:24 am

    • Thanks Patricia! And no problem about the pictures. I get most of them off of the internet. Your post was beautiful with beautiful quilts and a beautiful testimony of God’s work through you. God bless you!

      October 1, 2016 at 12:00 am

Leave a Reply

