Spreading The Gospel

Captivating – A Poem


Martha L Shaw - Poet, Writer, Artist

Mepkin 2007 009

Mepkin 2007 015

Captivating

Life,

Like the earth around me,

Often seems hard,

Dry,

Barren.

Where is the rain?

Where is the fruit for which I hunger?

Ah,

But when you squeeze my hand;

I am reminded that I walk this path

Not alone but with you.

Suddenly,

I am enchanted!

The Light in your eyes

Illuminates my world anew.

I hear you  . . . I see you . . .

in the flora and fauna . . .

in all that surrounds me.

How could I have failed to see?

These human eyes,

Why do they betray me?

As I gaze into yours,

I see myself

Changed by your love.

I am captivated by the opportunities

Suddenly my own,

By the beauty you’ve laid before me.

I wonder,

How could I so long have missed it?

By Martha L Shaw  – words and pictures © 3-2-2013

Mepkin 2007 003Mepkin 2007 021

*

*

*

View original post

Leave a Reply

